New Malden Village by-election results

Voters in the New Malden Village by-election have elected Mark Durrant (Liberal Democrats), Dongsung Kim (Liberal Democrats), and Lesley Anne Heap (Liberal Democrats) as their ward councillors.

The election in New Malden Village Ward was postponed from its planned date of Thursday 5 May, in accordance with electoral law, due to the sad death of independent candidate Mary Clark. 

The by-election saw a voter turnout of 42.83%, with Mark Durrant winning 1217 votes, Dongsung Kim securing 1184 votes and Lesley Anne Heap taking 1182 votes.

Voters in the rest of the borough cast their votes in the local elections on 5 May, when a total of 45 of the council’s 48 seats were decided. The results of the New Malden Village by-election mean the final political makeup of the council is as follows:

  • 44 Liberal Democrat councillors 

  • 3 Conservative councillors

  • 1 Kingston Independent Residents Group councillor

Leader of Kingston Council Cllr Andreas Kirsch said: 

“We will make sure that Kingston is a place where the most vulnerable are well looked after and that everyone from all our diverse communities feels valued. We will ensure that all children are able to make the most of the opportunities around them, young people and adults are helped to achieve and succeed, and we support all who live and work here in the face of ongoing financial challenges. We will do this alongside protecting our green spaces, taking action to tackle climate change and delivering the affordable homes and fantastic local facilities people need.

“By continuing to listen to our residents and working closely with them we will secure the very best future for everyone in our borough.”

Full voting results for the New Malden Village by-election:

Bedforth, Paul Ashworth (Conservative Party) - 467
Casey, Sean Paul (Labour Party) - 429
Cockle, Philip (Conservative Party) - 372
Dobson, Pat (Labour Party) - 436
Dunkling, Stephen (Labour Party) - 374
Durrant, Mark (Liberal Democrat) - 1217
Heap, Lesley Anne (Liberal Democrat) - 1182
Hebborn, Richard (Kingston Independent Residents Group) - 724
Hindosh, Saad (Conservative Party) - 327
Howard, Lucy (Green Party) - 867
Kim, Dongsung (Liberal Democrats) - 1184
Tracey, Marc (Kingston Independent Residents Group) - 703


Published: 24th June 2022