13 former Kingston Mayors to be made Honorary Aldermen

The status of Honorary Alderman was conferred on 13 former Kingston Mayors, who had at least 12 years of service as a local Councillor, at a special Council meeting last night.

Councillor Kevin Davis, Leader of the Council, said:

“The Council has established the practice of conferring the status of Honorary Alderman on certain councillors who have left office and who have indicated that they do not intend to seek re-election to Kingston Council. 

“At the Council meeting on 14 July 2015, it was agreed that a previous restriction which excluded councillors who have served as Mayor, should also be amended so that councillors who have served as Mayor and who have met the 12 year service threshold should be eligible to be appointed as Honorary Aldermen.”

Former Mayors who have been conferred having confirmed that they have no intention of standing again for election to the Council, are: 

  • Brian Bennett 
  • Patrick Codd 
  • Jane Smith 
  • Dennis Doe 
  • Frank Gaisford 
  • Peter Gray 
  • Don Jordon 
  • Reverend Michael Mannall 
  • Ian Reid 
  • Mary Reid 
  • Douglas Reynolds 
  • Penny Shelton 
  • David Smedley 

The process means that the honour was conferred at a special Council meeting on Tuesday 13 October 2015, convened for the purpose, by at least a two-thirds majority of those present and voting. Arrangements will be made for the new Honorary Aldermen to be ‘installed’ at a future Council meeting. It is customary to present a newly appointed Honorary Alderman with a framed illuminated scroll.