How we make decisions

Neighbourhood Committee

The Borough is divided into four Neighbourhoods, each of which have their own local Committees responsible for decisions that are best made at a local level, typically those which only affect a single Neighbourhood area.  They have their own budgets and can make decisions on a range of services, including traffic management, small planning applications, parks, libraries, housing management, youth service and licensing matters.

Meetings are usually held in the area of the Neighbourhood so that more local people can attend.  Each Neighbourhood covers between 3-5 wards and all the Councillors representing those wards serve on the Committees.

The current Neighbourhood Committees are:

  • Kingston Town Neighbourhood Committee, covering Kingston and Norbiton

  • Surbiton Neighbourhood Committee, covering Surbiton, Berrylands and Tolworth

  • Maldens & Coombe Neighbourhoods Committee, covering Coombe, New Malden and Old Malden

  • South of the Borough Neighbourhood Committee, covering Chessington, Hook and Malden Rushett

You can find out more about each of these Committees, including meeting dates, and view all the agendas and minutes for those meetings on our Modern Gov website

Last Modified: 01/02/2023 16:37:45