Cookie Consent by Free Privacy Policy Generator Change cookie preference

Infant, junior and primary schools

About our infant, junior and primary schools

We have 35 schools providing free education to children between the ages of four and 11 within the borough.

  • Primary schools provide education for children aged four to 11 years
  • Infant schools for children aged four to seven years
  • Junior schools for those aged seven to 11 years

A variety of schools provide free education for those aged four to 11. These are divided into community schools, academies, foundation schools and voluntary aided schools. 

To see where Kingston schools are located, use the View schools and nurseries by map button on this page or read through the list on our webpages. 

You can also view performance tables for these schools on the Department for Education's website or Ofsted reports on Ofsted's website.

Community schools

Community schools are owned and maintained by the Council, which sets the admissions policy, including the criteria used for allocating places at schools that receive more applications than they have places. 

Voluntary aided (church) schools

Voluntary aided (church) schools are maintained by the Council which pays the teachers' salaries and the day to day running costs of the schools. Generally the buildings are owned by a church. Schools are either Roman Catholic (RC) or Church of England (CofE). The governing body of the school sets the admission policy and criteria. 

Foundation schools

Foundation schools are also maintained by the Council, but the governing bodies of these schools own the school buildings and sites. They are responsible for admissions and set their own policy and criteria. 


An academy is a school that is run by an academy trust and its governors. 

Free schools

Free schools are independent of the local authority. 

Last Modified: 25/09/2020 15:10:26