News

Residents encouraged to continue recycling boost as Christmas bin collection dates released

Kingston residents are being encouraged to continue boosting recycling rates in the borough, following the release of the Christmas and New Year rubbish and recycling collection dates.

Rubbish and recycling collection dates shift slightly over the festive period to allow for Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year’s Day, which are all bank holidays. 

Cllr Hilary Gander, Portfolio Holder for Environment and Sustainable Transport at Kingston Council, said: 

“We’re a borough of keen recyclers and, as the busy Christmas and New Year period approaches, we’re inviting residents to make a note of the rescheduled rubbish and recycling collection dates. We’ll also be collecting and composting Christmas trees, just leave them on the front edge of your property on your black wheelie bin collection day between 7 and 19 January. 

“This year we aren’t printing and posting Christmas calendars to each house - it’s very expensive and isn’t environmentally-friendly. To find out more about your Christmas collection dates, visit our website or pick up a flyer in one of our libraries or at the Guildhall.” 

Rubbish and recycling collections will return to normal from Monday 14 January. 

Follow the council’s Facebook (@RBKingstonCouncil), Twitter (@RBKingston) and Instagram (@kingston_council) accounts to discover recycling top tips on the lead up to Christmas.

For more information on recycling, including your rescheduled collection dates, visit www.kingston.gov.uk/recycling or call our customer service team on 020 8547 5002. 

Your Christmas and New Year bin collection dates are below:

Your normal collection day   Your revised collection day  
Monday 24 December Collections as normal
Tuesday 25 December Thursday 27 December
Wednesday 26 December Friday 28 December
Thursday 27 December Saturday 29 December
Friday 28 December Monday 31 December
Monday 31 December Wednesday 2 January
Tuesday 1 January Thursday 3 January
Wednesday 2 January Friday 4 January
Thursday 3 January Saturday 5 January
Friday 4 January Monday 7 January
Monday 7 January Tuesday 8 January
Tuesday 8 January Wednesday 9 January
Wednesday 9 January Thursday 10 January
Thursday 10 January Friday 11 January
Friday 11 January Saturday 12 January