Six former councillors recognised for their service to the borough

honorary alderman

The status of Honorary Alderman has been conferred to six former councillors.

It is the highest award that can be made to a former member of the council that recognises exceptional service to the council for 12 years or more.

In front of full Council, the Mayor of Kingston, Councillor Thay Thayalan, presented the following six recipients with illuminated certificates to mark their installation as Honorary Aldermen of the Royal Borough:

  • Geoff Austin, for 12 years service (Mayor 2016/17, Deputy Mayor 2011/12, 2015/16)
  • David Fraser, MBE for 24 years service (Deputy Mayor 1989/90, 1990/91, 1998/99)
  • Sheila Griffin for 12 years service (Deputy Mayor 2006/07)
  • Eric Humphrey, QPM, for 24 years service
  • Shiraz Mirza for 20 years service (Mayor 2000/01, 2007/08, Deputy Mayor 2009/10)
  • Ken Smith, JP for 12 years service (Mayor 2014/15, Deputy Mayor 2010/11)

Kingston Council Leader, Councillor Liz Green, said:

“This honorary status is recognition of the time that these six people have spent serving the residents of this borough. I want to thank them and all the of the councillors who have served on this Council previously. 

“All of us are elected to serve residents and we all do it with the best of intentions, all of the time, and that is across the political parties. We always want what is best. It is an honour for our former colleagues and an honour for this Council, to have them as part of Kingston’s Honorary Aldermen service.”  

The title Honorary Aldermen confers the following rights and privileges:

  • To enjoy the courtesy title of Honorary Alderman and to be so addressed. 
  • To have their name inscribed on the "Roll of Honorary Aldermen of the Borough” kept at the Guildhall. 
  • To wear the robes of an honorary alderman at meetings of the Council held at the Guildhall and on other appropriate civic occasions and processions. 
  • To enjoy such other privileges as the Council may confer upon them from time to time.

To see these Honorary Aldermen being installed, to listen to the citations and to hear their acceptance speeches, please watch our webcast.