Kingston Council’s portfolio holders announced

Following the local elections on 3 May, the Leader of Kingston Council, Cllr Liz Green has announced her portfolio holders.

Along with her duties as Leader of the Council, Cllr Liz Green will also take overall responsibility for strategic partnerships. This includes the police, voluntary sector, health (including chairing Health and Wellbeing Board), businesses, Kingston university and relationships outside Kingston such as Greater London Authority (GLA), Local Government Association (LGA) and London Councils.

Deputy Leader and Portfolio Holder for Planning Policy, Culture and Heritage - Cllr Malcolm Self (Surbiton Hill ward).

Portfolio Holder for Adult Social Care - Cllr Margaret Thompson (Chessington North and Hook ward).

Portfolio Holder for Children's Services (including education) - Cllr Diane White (St Mark’s ward).

Portfolio Holder for Housing (including the regeneration of Cambridge Road Estate) - Cllr Emily Davey (Norbiton ward).

Portfolio Holder for Environment and Sustainable Transport - Cllr Hilary Gander (Surbiton Hill ward).

Portfolio Holder for Finance - Cllr Alison Holt (Surbiton Hill ward).

Portfolio Holder for Contract Monitoring and Corporate Services - Cllr Dave Ryder-Mills (Norbiton ward).

Portfolio Holder for Resident Engagement - Cllr Jon Tolley (Grove ward).

Cllr Liz Green, Leader of the Council, said:

“All the portfolio holders and I, look forward to delivering our manifesto for residents, businesses and partners in the borough; making Kingston a place to be proud of."

Subject to agreement at Annual Council, the Chairs of the various Council Committees will be as follows:

  • Finance and Contracts Committee - Cllr David Ryder-Mills. Vice Chair is Cllr Alison Holt.

  • Resident Engagement Committee - Cllr Jon Tolley. Vice Chair is Cllr Liz Green.

  • Environment and Sustainable Transport Committee - Cllr Hilary Gander. Vice Chair is Cllr Malcolm Self.

  • Housing and Planning Committee - Cllr Malcolm Self. Vice Chair is Cllr Emily Davey.

  • Social Care and Education Committee - Cllr Margaret Thompson. Vice Chair is Cllr Diane White.

The committee Chairs and other appointments will be formally appointed at the Annual Council meeting on 22 May 2018. Everyone is welcome to attend the Annual Council meeting at the Guildhall, where the new Mayor will be formally installed. You can also watch the live webcast.

30 of the council’s 48 councillors are newly elected. The Your Councillor section of the council’s website contains further information about all of their profiles, contact details and allows you to find your ward councillors.