Go Cycle Kingston Station wins prestigious award

Group shot winner of unbuilt category at the new london architecture awards

The Go Cycle team in Kingston has won a prestigious award for architecture and design.

The Kingston Station Go Cycle scheme, which is under construction, won the New London Awards (NLA) category for the Unbuilt Wellbeing category, which includes projects that are designed to improve the health and wellbeing of Londoners.

In awarding the winner, Katie Wood, Director of Operations Consulting at Arup said the Kingston Station scheme would link up with various cycle routes across Kingston, with the idea being to open up the existing car-focussed forecourt of Kingston Station to make it into a far more attractive place, not just for cyclists but for everyone, including those with mobility needs and partially sighted people. A new cycle storage area, cafe and community space complete the picture.

Wood said: “It’s a really fantastic amenity space, not just for cyclists but for everybody.”

Panellist and public architect David Burney applauded the project, saying “the whole idea of doing multi-modal transit and connecting them is the right direction to go.”

The Go Cycle team also received a commended in the Transport and Infrastructure category for the Portsmouth Road Go Cycle scheme. The project was commended for its attempt to make a better public space through the cycle route and better connections to the river.

Award assessor Sadie Morgan, who was awarded the NLA New Londoner of the Year, said: “It seemed like quite a considered, consolidated and collaborative piece of planning. If we could do that more in London, that would be a good thing.”

After accepting the award for Go Cycle Kingston Station, Roy Thompson, Director of Place at Kingston Council, said: 

“It’s an absolute honour to be receiving this NLA award. We are grateful for the recognition received for our work, especially amongst such a prestigious group of nominees.

“Kingston Council is committed to embracing growth. Our Go Cycle programme aims to make it easier to get around, cater for future growth, and provide more healthy streets for our residents and visitors.”

Deputy Leader of Kingston Council and portfolio holder for the Go Cycle programme Councillor Terry Paton said: 

“To win such a prestigious award is a fantastic achievement. It demonstrates the Go Cycle programme is on the right track to providing sustainable, efficient and healthy transport choices for residents.”

Go Cycle board member Councillor Hilary Gander said: 

“It’s great news that the Go Cycle programme has won this award. These developments are helping to change the way people can choose to travel around Kingston.”

The NLA features 160 projects across 15 categories recognising the very best new and proposed architecture, planning and development in the capital.

Supported by the Mayor of London, the NLA seeks projects of the highest design quality which make a positive contribution to their surroundings and life in the capital. They can include offices, housing, public spaces, community projects and major transport infrastructure.

Go Cycle is a network of 10 new linked cycle projects across the borough with improvements to footpaths and public spaces.

In 2014, Kingston was allocated £30 million funding from the Mayor of London as part of the Transport for London Mini-Holland Programme. Kingston is one of three local authorities to secure funding for such projects.

The Kingston Station scheme is £4.3 million and is part of a design project managed by Kingston Council, supported by BuroHappold Engineering, Sarah Wigglesworth Architects, OKRA landscape architecture and Tomato communications.

The Portsmouth Road scheme cost £2.7 million and was part of a project managed by Kingston Council, supported by Atkins in engineering and landscape architecture and Kier for construction.


Image caption

Left to right:

  • Andy Murdoch (BuroHappold Engineering)
  • Jean-Christophe Chassard (Go Cycle)
  • Councillor Phil Doyle (Go Cycle member officer board)
  • Sarah Wigglesworth (Sarah Wigglesworth Architects)
  • Roy Thompson (Director of Place, Kingston Council)
  • Viv Evans (Head of Planning and Regeneration, Kingston Council)
  • Tony Antoniou (Go Cycle)